Tags

, , , ,

I’m having a hard time getting my mind and emotions in order.

The world is going mad. There’s just too much happening, and most of it isn’t good. People seem more intent on dividing and condemning than finding common ground or any kind of peace. My head is spinning and my heart hurts.

I’m with Miss Congeniality- I really do want world peace!
I’m not naive enough, however, to believe it’s going to happen here on earth. But Romans 12 is very much in my spirit right now, especially verse 18:” If possible, on your part, live at peace with everyone.”

On my part, if possible, live at peace with everyone. That is one big idea. Well, more than an idea- it’s a command.

What does that look like in my life? Does it mean I never take a stand to keep the peace? I don’t believe so, because there are too many other commands in the Bible that call me to live by the convictions of Christ. Is it possible to take a stand and not look like, or be a hater? I think so. I can disagree with someone and still love them and treat them with respect and kindness. Can they disagree with me and still love me, treat me with respect and kindness? That IS possible, but that’s on their part.

I think it means not seeking out offense and not jumping on bandwagons. To stop expecting people who do not believe what I believe to act like I would, and yet not compromise my own standard of morality and integrity. I think it means to not be contentious, but to find common ground. To look for ways to connect and show kindness and goodwill. To love with abandon and pray without ceasing. I think, sometimes, it might even change from person to person, situation to situation. There unfortunately will even be situations where peace isn’t a possibility.

Do I have it all figured out? Not even close.
There are fine lines I’m going to have to trust Holy Spirit to help me navigate.

But on my part, as far as it is possible, I am committed to live at peace with everyone.

