Tags

, ,

I’m enamored with the idea of minimalist living. I came across a blog by Joshua Becker called Becoming Minimalist a couple of years ago, and he continues to inspire me to live without excess. Even though we don’t live excessively materialistically, I still had clutter. Things we were saving “just in case”; closets needing purged of outgrown and unworn clothing; junk drawers. I got rid of it all and continue to weed out regularly. I even thrift shop a lot less than I used to, and my rule is for each thing brought in, one thing has to go. It feels really good to know that we only have (mostly) the things we need and use. I still have trouble with books and knick-knacks. This is my motto:

theo.theodorealexander.com

theo.theodorealexander.com

Lately I’ve been thinking about when my kids are grown and gone. What will our life be like? We will be left with empty rooms when our youngest two move out. Which I will not want to look at and be sad. Which started me thinking about having an RV- living in one, actually. My husband and I both want to travel. What about a completely mobile home? Could we really dump the majority of our stuff? Could we get along in such close quarters??

walkslowlylivewildly.com * side note: don't you just love the name of that website??

walkslowlylivewildly.com
* side note: don’t you just love the name of that website??

Minimalism is a growing trend. Some choose it out of necessity- lost jobs and/or less income because of the economic slump. But others are choosing it out of a desire to live more intentionally and less excessively. To use their time and money not for the gain and upkeep of stuff, but on family, friends, and getting out in the world. To make their environmental footprint much smaller. I’m just fascinated with this idea. I’ve been looking for the past few months at “hobbit houses” on the internet. Made mostly of found materials, solar powered, compact- they are so interesting.  Two examples:

associerge.com

associerge.com

relaxshacks.blogspot.com

relaxshacks.blogspot.com

This led to finding out about tiny houses. Along the same lines as a hobbit house, but not underground. They are built usually on a trailer because zoning laws in most areas state a single-family dwelling must be at least 600 square feet. Building on a trailer is considered an non-permanent structure and isn’t subject to zoning law. I learned this by watching a documentary on Netflix called Tiny House, by the way. And since it’s on a trailer, it can also be moved. Could you imagine hooking your house up to a vehicle and taking a trip, parking your house in somebody’s driveway? Awesome! They have such a clever and innovative use of space, too.

nhne-pulse.org

nhne-pulse.org

blog.coldwellbanker.com

blog.coldwellbanker.com

fortikur.com

fortikur.com

tinyhousetalk.com

tinyhousetalk.com

inhabitat.com

inhabitat.com

 

tinyexashouses.com

tinyexashouses.com

IMG_9316new-1024x679

houzz.com

houzz.com

hgtvremodels.com

hgtvremodels.com

So cozy! I love how individual and unique these are. Would you, could you, do this?

 

