Tags

, , , ,

Image

Let’s start with Lemon.
*One of my favorite aromas in the whole world, I diffuse it into the air in my home.
* I use it as an antibacterial cleaning solution mixed with witch hazel and water (this also makes a good poo-pourri spray for the bathroom!).
*I use it as a skin toner for my face when it’s acting up with hormonal breakouts. It’s highly antiseptic and astringent, so I dilute it- about 3 drops of oil to 6 ounces of water. Although I have put it undiluted straight from the bottle directly on a stubborn spot and it will be gone the next day. I wouldn’t recommend it for daily use if you have sensitive skin- I do, and it tends to be too drying.
*I have used a couple of drops in a glass of water for a cleanse.

A note about citrus oils: they must be stored in glass as they will eat through plastic eventually. Powerful stuff!

Image

Next is Clove.
*I use it daily to balance my thyroid. I rub a drop each of clove, lemongrass, myrrh, and peppermint directly on my neck where the thyroid is located twice a day.
*I use it in a spray to deter my cats from scratching the furniture. I mix about 5 drops each of clove, lemongrass, lavender, tea tree, and peppermint with witch hazel in a spray bottle. This is working on the spots they have already begun scratching, they no longer touch them, but they seem to be finding new places. GRRR. Cats.
*Makes yummy french toast! A few drops in with the egg coating, voila.

Image

And Frankincense.
Super expensive, but it’s the one oil I would never do without. It’s the ultimate healer. “When in doubt, use frankincense.”  If you aren’t sure which oil will work best for which issue, frankincense will work for everything. I have been trying natural methods to heal from hypothyroidism and fibromyalgia for about the last ten years, and frankincense has brought me the farthest toward that goal.
*I rub it on the bottoms of my feet  and on my hands each night before go to sleep. One drop for each foot and hand mixed with a carrier oil like coconut or vitamin E. I sleep so much better, and have been feeling more energetic, clearer, and …just more well. there’s also been a noticeable difference in my pain level. Why the bottoms of the feet? I don’t know if you’ve ever seen a reflexology chart, but the all areas of the feet and hands correlate to every system and organ in the body.

Image

-image via accumedic.com

*I have put a drop directly on a wound several times, and have been amazed at the swiftness of the healing. I’ve also been putting a drop on a scar I’ve had for years, and it’s shrinking.
*While I rub it into my feet at night, I also have been rubbing a spot on my leg where I have varicose veins (thank you, my children). These too, are shrinking.

Image

I’ve been using essential oils cosmetically for a couple of years now, but a few months ago I attended a gathering where a friend also experimenting with the oils had another very experienced woman teaching about them, and several ladies gave personal testimonials. I prayed about it and felt God’s urging to dive right in and use them for healing. I do believe He created everything we need in nature for maintaining our daily health. (There are of course, occasions where there is a health crisis or accident and we may need a doctor or medicine.) It sometimes takes a while for the oils to balance our bodies, but I believe they do work, and the side effects are minimal to none, especially compared with most medications. So far, so good!

